Philippine Brand – Dried Young Coconut

I like coconut. But I don’t normally love coconut. In this case though I am truly twitterpated. (twitterpated: An enjoyable disorder characterized by feelings of excitement, anticipation, high hopes, recent memories of interludes, giddiness, and physical over stimulation which occur simultaneously when experiencing a new love.)

I don’t believe that this is a new product, although it is new to me and I have not seen it in the stores up until just weeks ago. I purchased my 18oz bag at Costco for $8.99 and could not wait to try some so as the door closed on my car in the Costco parking lot the bag of Philippine Brand Dried Young Coconut opened. (It is selling online for $19.99 to $28.99 a 18 oz bag) Can you say rip off?

The coconut is cut into little hunks lightly sugared and then dried but not dried so much that they are rock hard. I expected a tough tasteless experience but I found to my pleasure quite the opposite. The pieces are tender and slightly sweet with a great coconut flavor. The first few were ok, but as I ate a few more they became addicting. Oh they are good!

If I did not consciously stop myself from taking another piece I could have eaten half the bag. Both flavor and texture are great.

Let’s talk a little about nutrition a bit. Coconut in general is a healthy food. Coconut is highly nutritious and high in fiber, vitamins and minerals. It is called a functional food because it provides many health benefits beyond its nutritional value.

Here is a link to the nutritional profile of raw, unsweetened coconut.

So let’s read the nutritional facts provided on the bag.

So as you can see it is really an unexciting label except for the out of this world high fiber content and a high sugar content.

My recommendation because of the high sugar content is that you eat it in small quantities and only for a treat such as desert or grab a handful as you head out the door, leaving the bag at home.

It would also be a great addition to home made trail mix if you are a hiker or camper. I enjoy this product and will buy it again.

Posted on June 15, 2012, in Food Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I have the same bag but mine says 1 gram of sugar…

  2. It makes no sense to me that it would have14g of fiber since it only has coconut and sugar. There isn’t any fiber in sugar and about 45g of coconut meat according to SelfNutritionData has 7g fiber.

  3. I agree about the high fiber claim of the label. Mislabeled or deliberately misleading?

  4. I think the fiber is really in there. Try eating 1.5 oz and see if you don’t get results. Maybe it has so much because it is dried I wish it didn’t have all that added sugar. I’ve heard of “young coconuts,” but haven’t seen them in the grocery store. My bag of dried coconut also came from Costco.

  5. I did a little investigating on this product because i too love it, but was curious about the low fat and high fiber content. It isnt actual coconut meat. It is what is known as dried nata de coco, which is a jelly substance derived from fermented coconut water. Just wanted to share that.

  6. Does anyone know approximately how many pieces ( I know the sizes of the pieces differ) equal 1.5 oz?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers

