Gino’s Bistro

Gino’s Bistro – Maple Valley (Their first Gino’s is located in Federal Way WA)

23917 Southeast Kent Kangley Road Maple Valley, WA 98038 (425) 433-6220

Monday – Thursday
11:30 AM to 9:30 PM
Friday
11:00 AM to 10:00 PM
Saturday
1:00 PM to 10:00 PM
Sunday
4:00 PM to 9:30 PM

http://www.ginosrestaurants.com/

I am always up for some good Italian food and so when I got a tip about Gino’s I made the trip to check it out and was not disappointed.

I must first say that they have done a great job transforming this old Shakey’s Pizza Parlor into a pleasant Italian bistro. The only reason I knew it use to be a Shakey’s is because I had eaten there before when it was Shakey’s, otherwise there is no resemblance and I would have not had a clue of its past inhabitants.

On inspection, the dining room was clean and looking into the kitchen it appeared clean as well. The temperature in the building was kept a bit on the cool side though as was commented from my table and as I over heard it commented from the table behind us as well.

As we sat down we were greeted with a freshly poured plate of light olive oil and balsamic vinegar by the wait staff and a basket of warm herbed focaccia bread.   The focaccia is freshly baked everyday and as a matter of fact, they bake all their breads fresh everyday around 2pm and you can buy the loafs to take home, it was fabulous. (The pic below is of their Italian bread, the focaccia distracted me and made me forget about taking pictures and before I knew it it was all gone.)

 

The staff were very pleasant, attentive and willing to work with my requests as a vegan. We were able to modify and create as we pleased which is important when working with a traditionally cheese and meat heavy menu.

I ordered a create my own pizza (not on the menu). The pizza was ordered with a red marinara sauce, mushrooms, fresh basil, roasted whole garlic, black olive, and drizzled with fresh pesto. The waitress told me that we would have to forgo the black olives because they had run out. I thought it was odd to run out of black olives at a Italian restaurant which was echoed by the waitress.

We also ordered a basic spaghetti in a marinara sauce which turned out to be a spaghettini and not spaghetti. , it came with soup or side salad. We opted for the salad with balsamic vinaigrette that was so flavorful I could have eaten it with a spoon. The pasta sauce which is the most important part of any pasta dish was old world, very simple and had the “cooked all day” taste and consistency. It was highlighted by whole garlic cloves, both the pasta and the garlic cloves were al dente (to the tooth) meaning soft but not mushy or crunchy, perfect! The sauce was perfect to dip our remaining bread into which pushed me over the line from full to stuffed.

Over all it was a good dining experience.

Posted on July 13, 2012, in Restaurant Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

