Eating Vegan At Red Robin, Yummm

My family and I don’t eat at Red Robin much but every once in a while we get Jones’in  for a burger & frys. So we head off to our local Red Robin Restaurant. Now you might be thinking as I was, “What am I going to order at Red Robin that is vegan besides one of their salads with 90% of the ingredients left off which would be OK but I am not going to pay $10.50 for one of their salads and just get a plate of lettuce if you know what I mean.

So I have done the homework for you and I am going to share with you some of the items on the menu that you can tweek to end up with a great tasting vegan meal at Red Robin. I am sure that this is not all the things that can be Veganized at the Robin but these are the items that we order.

First off burger number one: (You could do this with any of their burgers with a little creativity.)  I like their Whiskey River Burger. This is how I order it. “Substitute a Boca pattie (yes, it is the vegan one I asked) for the beef pattie, no cheese, no mayo on a whole wheat bun cut in half with a side of BBQ sauce.” I need the BBQ sauce because without the cheese & mayo the burger can be a bit dry but not bad., plus I am a big sauce fan. You can also sub a salad for the frys at no extra charge.

Burger number two: The Banzai Burger I order it like this: “Substitute a Boca pattie for the beef pattie, no cheese, no mayo on a whole wheat bun cut in half with a side of teriyaki sauce.” again I need the side of teriyaki to keep the burger moist in the absents of the cheese and mayo.

Red Robin's Banzai Burger

Those are the two burgers that we order when we go to Red Robin. You could do this same thing with any of their burgers.

Now for the salad I like to get there. Its their “Whiskey River Chicken Salad” This is how I order it. “No Chicken, no cheese, no dressing and extra BBQ sauce. (I use the BBQ sauce for the salad dressing) This salad is very good this way.

Whiskey River Salad

I enjoy Red Robin because they are so accommodating with making any of their food vegan for you if possible. They have gone out of their way to be sure its the way I ordered it.

So the next time you are wanting a burger don’t hesitate to roll into your local Red Robin and have it your way. Oh.. ya…, that’s another burger place isn’t it?

Posted on February 3, 2013, in Restaurant Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. I’m always looking for new chain restaurants to go to with my non-vegan friends, where I can get something more than a side salad — thank you!

  2. I’m so jealous! I’m not sure where you are located, but the Red Robin’s here in BC, Canada put cheese in their ‘Garden Burger’ patty! Very annoying actually because otherwise, with all the customizable options of their burgers, it would be a great place for eating out with omnivore family and friends.

    • Yes, your correct the “Garden Burgers” are not vegan. Our Red Robins here in the U.S. offer the Garden Burger option as well as the “Boca Burger” option which is vegan. You have to order the Boca Burger and not the Garden Burger as a substitute for the beef pattie, that is of course if they offer the Boca Burger up there in the B.C. Red Robins.

  3. Great info! It’s nice to have choices when I go out with non-vegan friends. And if I order something delicious-looking (not just “another salad”) my friends are more likely to be envious and want to eat vegan too!

  4. Nailed it. I have been trying to show my friends how easy this is to be vegan eating out. The only catch is if a place doesn’t cater to you don’t bring them your business.

  5. Aren’t the onion straws made with egg?
    I too love red robin. Do you not eat the fries becaus they are cooked in oil that cooks other stuff?
    I was looking online to see if the BBQ sauce has worchestershire sauce in it or some other thing like that. Haven’t found out yet.

  6. This is awesome! I have tried the vegan banzai burger and it’s amazing! I have yet to venture out and try anything else. Although I do have a question..what type of salad dressing is vegan friendly? I saw your side salad and am curious to know what you enjoy on it. I think I have read that their Italian and Caesar have anchovies as an ingredient.

    Thanks.

    • Venessa,

      Thanks for commenting on my blog, I always love to hear from you guys.

      To answer your question. I order the Italian dressing for my salad. If you go to Red Robin’s website there is a tool that you can use to search ingredients and to omit any ingredients. I did that, omitting dairy and meat and it brought up the Italian dressing as being Vegan. I also asked them and they said that it was vegan.

      Thanks again for your comments!

  7. The whiskey river BBQ sauce is NOT vegetarian. It contains beef stock! They make it in house using Heinz 57 BBQ sauce as a base, which is vegan. You can ask for that.

  8. Hey just want to let you know I found this out recently that the bbq sauce they use is made with chicken! The teriyaki sauce is OK though! A good reminder that I need to always double check things!

  9. I found out last year that the BBQ Sauce is not vegetarian. Our server informed us that it was made with beef stock, even though all previous servers had assured me it was vegetarian. Be careful!

  10. Great tips, but I have a question: are the buns vegan? I was told at our local Red Robin that there are eggs in them. They could be mistaken or it could be a regional thing. Wondering if you asked? Thanks.

  11. It’s about time. I went there two years ago for my birthday dinner, expecting to be able to cut out certain ingredients and sub in others (more veg) for an awesome vegan experience. I was told that, no, nothing there was vegan – even the bread was an enemy! So, while my buddies enjoyed their food, I ordered a salad and a side of fries. The fries arrived after my friends had finished eating, and were already cold and hard; the salad arrived as my friends had had their plates cleared and were considering dessert/paying their bills, and after eating a few bites I discovered a giant, disgusting, unsightly hair in it.

    My birthday was actually ruined.

Leave a Reply

