Field Roast Chao Cheese and New Hand Formed Burger Review

Chao Cheese-085120

I am excited about this new year because there are some new products out and these two are two of the best I have seen.

I must say, right off, that I have not been a big fan of the Seattle based Field Roast products, their products in the past have just not wowed me until now. I would say that they where just OK.

In my opinion Field Roast has taken the proverbial vegan football to the Superbowl two times in a row now with these two new products being introduced, one after the other, kinda like the Seattle Seahawks. Go Hawks!!! Sorry, but it is Superbowl Sunday…

Anyway, the Chao “Cheese” comes in three flavors, Coconut Herb with Black Pepper, Creamy Original with Chao Tofu and Tomato Cayenne. I have only tried the Coconut Herb and the Creamy Original, both are outstanding! This is my new go to cheese for burgers and grilled cheese sandwiches. (I will be trying it on pizza soon)

It looks like cheese, it feels like deli cheese, its non-dairy, non-GMO, Vegan and it peels apart and melts like cheese.

Here is the Chao Cheese product sheet in PDF

I made a grilled cheese sandwich with it, one slice of the Coconut Herb and one slice of the Creamy Original and it melted and got creamy and real cheesy, best grilled cheese I have had since being a Vegan.

I have also ate it on crackers straight up, its that good. I had a slice on the new Field Roast Hand Formed Burger, again it was wonderful. Watch the below video to see the cheese in action.

That brings us to the new Hand Formed Burger. I must say I was a bit apprehensive at first but now it is my favorite Vegan burger.

Field-roast-burger-package

 First I thawed the burgers then slapped them on a indoor grill with a little oil. I grilled them long enough to get those fantastic looking grill marks on both sides then added a slice of room temp Chao cheese (it melts easier if they start out at room temp. just like any deli cheese does.)

I then dressed it original with a slice of dill pickle, ketchup and yellow mustard.

Check out the Field Roast video below for a bit of Vegan Meat humor.

 Here is the Hand Formed Burger Product Sheet in PDF

These two new products came out just in time for all those BBQs this summer.

Both Field Roast’s new Hand Formed Burger and Chao cheese are a great addition to my BBQ arsenal.

When I put these two new product together I will create shock and awe at any meat lovers BBQ I attend.

Chao! Oh, I mean Ciao!

 

Posted on February 1, 2015, in Food Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

